The day I met Elijah Wood…

I remember in my younger years when a producer came to film the movie, “The Faculty” in my little home town of Lockhart, Texas. The movie itself was not the best movie around, but my friend and I were stoked at the opportunity to ‘maybe’ meet some of the actors in the show.

This was a big deal for our 9,000 populated town who rarely got to see any action from the movie making front, and for hot-shot movie stars to be there… well….this was HUGE! Our entire town was in an uproar and I recall banners and welcome signs abroad.

With all the commotion, my friend and I thought we would seize the opportunity. So we drove around the set to see if any of the actors were ‘out and about.’ Then, all of sudden, our dreams came true! There he was, Mr. Elijah Wood, all by himself on the side of the road. No body-guards, no other people, just him, walking… alone! This was a dream two young girls just couldn’t pass up. So we, being the mature people that we were, slammed on the brakes and put the car in park right in the middle of the road. Literally we were parked in the road and blocking traffic might I add. But we were to elated to even notice. Really mature I know!  We then dashed out of our cars and started running to Elijah and calling his name. I could only imagine what was going through his head… attack, crazy ladies, where’s my mace, help, who knows? Come to think of it, I do recall him dialing numbers on his phone?? None the less we were still excited to see him.

So my friend and I, chatted with him for about 5 minutes, gave him a great big hug…or three, got his autograph, and bragged all the way home. As fun as it was, however, something began to dawn on me and then it hit me…”Sometimes, Elissa, you are more impressed with the men of this world rather than you are with the Heavenly Father.” Ouch!

You see, we worship movie stars, political people, singers, power and money but yet we fail to worship the very Creator of them all. We treat God as if he is common and have lost that sense of holiness and awe for Him. My Friends He is All powerful, all-knowing, never-changing, King of Kings, Eternal, Creator of all things! And He is so worthy of our worship, reverence and respect.

 Psalm 89:7 “God is greatly to be feared in the assembly of the saints, and to be held in reverence by all those around Him.”

True worship should ascribe worth to God and should be done in reverence. It should be felt inwardly and come out thorough our “attitudes of love” and “ our actions.” Just “going through the motions” out of obligation is displeasing to God & done completely in vain. He can see right through that hypocrisy and he hates it. Take Cain and Abel for example. Both brought a gift offering before the Lord. But God was only pleased with Abel’s. You see Cain brought his gift out of complete obligation. But Abel brought the finest lambs of his flock, he brought out of complete faith and adoration for God.

So my question to you is this, do you worship out of obligation? Or do you worship because you have love and adoration for the King?  Worship is not about just singing a slow song. It involves our whole being: Our hearts—Our Minds—Our emotions—And Even Our Will!

John 4:22-23 “But the hour is coming, and now is, when the true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and truth; for the Father is seeking such to worship Him.”

God is seeking you to worship Him. So will you join me, in spending a few moments of worship time alone with our King?

Praise you Lord!

7 responses to “The day I met Elijah Wood…

  1. I love this post. When I think of worship, not only do I think of singing praise songs, but I also think of how I live my life. Am I worshipping God with my entire life? How I treat my husband, my family, how our finances are handled, etc. Thank you for the reminder that God wants the gift offered to him from our heart, which is of course, what He wants the most.

    • That’s awesome Kristen!! I needed the reminder myself. The other day I was worshiping God because I needed his help and God ever so lovingly reminded me that I need to worship him not only when I need something, but when I don’t, not expecting anything in return. It pierced my heart.

  2. Beautifully written Elissa. 🙂 I would write more but I am pooped right now. Just spent 11 hours packing and shopping for last minute items to pack 12 – 50lb bags full of supplies. It was fun. God is soooo good!!!! PS – you are going to laugh but I thought the video link was a worship song – I was all ready to listen to a great worship song and it ended up being a T-Mobile commercial. ha ha. Night!

  3. Very True! Amen To That! If any man impresses me, I’m more impressed that God created someone who has that ability.

Leave a Reply

