The Price Others Pay for Our Lack of Utilizing the Gifts

Romans 12:6-8, “In his grace, God has given us different gifts [Spiritual Gifts] for doing certain things well. So if God has given you the ability to prophesy, speak out with as much faith as God has given you. If your gift is serving others, serve them well. If you are a teacher, teach well. If your gift is to encourage others, be encouraging. If it is giving, give generously. If God has given you leadership ability, take the responsibility seriously. And if you have a gift for showing kindness to others, do it gladly.” 

The word, Spiritual Gift, comes from the Greek phrase chrismata and it is defined as, “a gift of grace.” Which means we are given a “favor” or a “special gift” to do the work of ministry on behalf of, and empowered by, the Holy Spirit.

As believers we are each given not just one spiritual gift, but a few to sometimes even many. These precious gifts are given by the very Creator himself, yet, sadly, few of them are active in the church today. What has happened? Why are we not using them to their full potential?

When someone we admire gives us a gift, we can’t stop talking about it. I mean think about it. If someone came up to you and wrote you a check for $100,000 how excited would you be? I would want to tell everyone I knew. Yet when the King of the Universe, the one we proclaim as Lord, gives us a gift, we hide it away to make certain no one knows about it. Why?

1. Fear – We are afraid people will make fun of us, judge us, or that we might mess-up, or use the gift in-correctly.  Maybe it’s that we are afraid that someone else will do a better job than us. Sadly, we let fear rule over our lives rather than putting our trust in the Lord. Ultimately it is Gods name on the table not ours and if we are full of fear, than are we really trusting Him as we claim?

2 Timothy 1:7, “For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.”

2. Time– In this day and age that we live in its hard not to have a fully booked schedule. Our lives can be so jam-packed that their simply isn’t space in them to make use of what God has entrusted us with. Wow kinda hits home doesn’t it?

Might I suggest something? Instead of adding one more thing to your lives, perhaps God wants us to give Him ALL of our time and let Him direct it as He sees fit. Don’t be too busy following other pursuits in life, that God gets the back burner. This is dangerous. After all, we are not here to serve ourselves but rather we came to serve….

Mark 10:45, “For even the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve and to give His life a ransom for many.”

3. Money – Sometimes our gifts require us to spend money that we just don’t have. But what we need to remember is that God has equipped us to do the work He has designed us for. If He calls you to feed a hungry neighbor and you can barely afford food for your own family; then you need to simply trust that He will provide for you both.

Following Jesus means walking a path that won’t always make sense and we aren’t called to understand everything He commands us to do; nor are we going to be comfortable with everything He asks us to do. We just need to trust Him for that provision. And trust me, he has done it plenty of times for me.

Proverbs 3:9-10, “Honor the Lord with your wealth and with the firstfruits of all your produce; then your barns will be filled with plenty, and your vats will be bursting with wine.”

4. Laziness – Following Jesus is a hard road. It requires hard work and many times we don’t feel like putting forth the effort. We’d rather catch an extra hour of sleep, play on the internet, do something fun, or watch television. You see, we have become so accustomed to feeding ourselves the things of this world, that we hunger for them, more than God…you hunger what you feed on. Owtch…that one hit me too!

So lets not feed ourselves the wrong things. Rather let’s be in control of what we eat. Lets be about the Lords work and not be a lackadaisical follower after our own affairs.

1 Corinthians 15:58, “Therefore, my beloved brethren, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that your labor is not in vain in the Lord.”

5. Selfishness – Sometimes we would just rather do what we want to do, rather than doing the things God asks us. Try to make it your aim and desire to do the works He created you to do.God’s intention in gifting people is not primarily so that we would take, but really so that we would give out to others.

1 Peter 4:10 (NIV), “Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering Gods grace in its various forms.”

In closing, don’t allow fear, money, time, laziness, or selfishness to keep you from your giftings. And don’t resist the urge that God is placing upon your heart to make full use of the gifts and calling He has given you. Otherwise people will pay the price of not receiving that which you were given to bless them.

Love you all!

44 responses to “The Price Others Pay for Our Lack of Utilizing the Gifts

  1. All 5 are major reasons why we avoid taking a stand for Christ. You did a very good job with these. It was a blessing and a reminder to not allow these things to get in the way of our service for Him. Thanks

  2. “Instead of adding one more thing to your lives, perhaps God wants us to give Him ALL of our time and let Him direct it as He sees fit.”

    Absolutely! A few years ago I began to start each day, the second I rolled out of bed, by praying, “Lord, let YOUR kingdom come, let YOUR will be done in my life today as it is in heaven.” It’s a daily setting aside of my agenda and embracing His. Some days I pray it with great anticipation, and some days, I must confess, I say it through gritted teeth because I really want to do things my own way. Since I started changing my mindset, however, I have found the gifts are starting to flow. And they certainly work better when I am doing what I see my Father doing instead of trying to drum them up myself!

  3. I enjoyed this lesson! What a blessing! It is such a privilege, and an honor, to be called, appointed, and anointed for service in the kingdom of God. Rather than squeezing God in, may we give Him preeminence in our lives! May the Lord bless you, abundantly!

    Paulette

  4. OUCH!! That hurt! Thanks for the kick in the pants, I am impressed by your commitment to your calling and a little more inspired to push the boundaries of my own. Thank you

  5. Spot on. I think this is really true of the reasons we avoid walking in our calling. Yes, it won’t be easy, but it’s amazing how God provides for us when we take simple (or radical) steps of obedience to him. I like the point you make about others missing out because we aren’t using our gifts. May we all seek Him for guidance on how he wants us to move forward for His glory.

  6. It’s true. And one way or another, I think I am somewhat guilty of all of those 5 reasons.
    But if you allow me, I wish to add one more thing in the list:

    6. We don’t exactly know what our gifts are.

    I think sometimes we aren’t just sure what our gifts are. That happened to me. It took me years to realize my gifts. But diring the times of my “wandering”—looking for my gifts—some peope are busy judging me of being stubborn, or lazy or fearful…but actually, I just didn’t know yet my gifts. I was too young then.

    Thanks for a very interesting post. And for reminding us…
    🙂
    Godbless!

    • I completely agree! Sometimes it can be hard to know just where the Lord has gifted us… and your right, it does take time too.

      The funny thing is I almost posted with this post ‘how to know what your gifting are.’ But I thought it would be too long. LOL… maybe I should do that one soon. 🙂

      Thanks for your responce and I look forward to checking out your blog as well. 🙂

  7. Beautiful heart spoken truth! Our lackness is filled by God’s promises to us. Our busyness allows us to miss His directions for our lives. The enemy has us so distracted with things of the world today that we don’t hear God’s voice. Such a shame for a man who died on the cross for our sins, not His because He was sinless. Yet, we are to preoccupied with the devil’s toys.

    Bless you and your family, may the good Lord keep you until your work is complete and pleasing to Him. Amen.

    A Woman After God’s Own Heart♥

  8. Thank you for the reminder. It can be as simple as a smile for stranger or someone having a difficult day. Letting Christ shine from us is a privilege not a burden.

  9. Reblogged this on Life of a Minister Mom and commented:
    Thank you Reality of Christ for sharing this revelation in such a profound way! God’s timing is perfect, and many need to hear this TODAY!

  10. Thank God for the wonderfull treasures that He has given to each of us to show off His glory. Beautiful heart spoken message. Words to live by “Don’t resist the urge that God is placing upon your heart to make full use of the gifts and calling He has given you.” Thanks for sharing and I appreciate you stopping by My Journal of Praise and liking posts. God bless you in everything you do.

  11. Pingback: God’s Mountain Removal Service « doyoumeanwhatiknow·

Leave a Reply

