It is Stupid to Hate Correction

“To learn, you must love discipline; it is stupid to hate correction.” Proverbs 12:1 (NLT)

To learn I have to love discipline? Who in their right mind loves discipline? I certainly don’t, but none the less, to hate correction is, as the Bible says, stupid. Can the Bible say that? And the answer is yes It did. I believe the Bible used such a powerful word here because it wanted to get the point across.  It was meant to get our attention.

As most people, no one loves discipline. It is painful, no fun, and seems like a personal attack at the time. However, the Bible portrays it in quite a different light, a rather positive one.

“No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.” Hebrews 12:11

So the Bible says that it is painful, however it also says that through it is produced righteousness and peace. Can you believe that! Righteousness and peace! That comes from being trained through discipline. Meaning we have to have experience it, we have to have been given it, we have to have accepted it, acted on it, received it, and even made some mistakes along the way. It’s all part of the training process. And not only are we disciplined by authority figures here on earth, but most of all by our Heavenly Father, the King of Kings, for it is He who is the main disciplinary on this earth.

Blessed is the man whom God corrects; so do not despise the discipline of the Almighty. For he wounds, but he also binds up; he injures, but his hands also heal.” Job 5:17-18

My son, do not make light of the Lord’s discipline, and do not lose heart when he rebukes you, because the Lord disciplines the one he loves, and he chastens everyone he accepts as his son.” Hebrews 12:5-6

God says that we are not only blessed through his discipline, but more importantly that he disciplines us because he loves us. I personally have been disciplined by God on many occasions and it may not be something that I thought was pleasant at the time, but in the end I am thankful for his chastisement.

You see God is not being mean or laughing at our wrongs. In fact quite the opposite. He wants to see us succeed in life, he wants what’s best for us. Just as a parent corrects a child for a wrong, so does our Heavenly Father correct us, but he does it in a loving manner, to help us, not to tear us down nor hurt us. For example he tells us not to be drunk with alcohol. Why? Is it because he wants to take away something we may think is fun? No, it’s because he knows that if you drink too much you could end up hurting yourself, doing something crazy, or end up hurting someone else. So he tells us not to for our own benefit. Never does he ask us to do something just because he can; there is always a reason for what God does and we need to trust him in that.

Remember to hate correction is stupid… not my words, but Gods.

I love you all!

24 responses to “It is Stupid to Hate Correction

  1. Right – thanks for the helpful reminder that even when God corrects and disciplines us, it is for our good and for His glory. I forget that sometimes:)

  2. Hi Elissa! LOVE reading your posts. But, curious … I print and read when I can sit where comfortable. Is there anyway to “adjust” margins so maybe would fit on 1 or 2 pages? when I print the post out – it ends up on 2 or 3 pages and last page is a bunch of link stuff. the margins seem really wide. I think could be a lot smaller. anyway – just curious. I’m probably the only one who prints them out! But figured I’d ask – just in case! Also – the one before this had a “type” deal on the very first line! it was a real word – but not the correct one. can’t remember now – sorry. Up til then, I’ve never noticed any wrong words – maybe you were in a big hurry or something. it was also a little confusing to figure out what you were saying. I think you just wrote too fast and then maybe didn’t re-read it! I do that a LOT with emails – I’ve been corrected a number of times. So – I’ve tried to slow down a bit and re-read things. Anyway – just a suggestion. Oh! I thought at first you had your name on them – but now – only says “Reality Of Christ” – was there some reason to not have your name as an author anymore? Your photo is pretty small and JB didn’t know who you were?! BUT – he was saying, “boy! that person is a great writer! But who is she?” When I explained who you were – he remembered you then! Anyway – he really likes reading your posts too – that’s another reason I print them, and then share with my daughter and then send them to several friends. So – you’re getting around! Did you ever connect with Patty? They’re super great people. Are you coming to the God’s Girls Get Away? You can register on CCS website. Hope you can come! Find me if you do! God bless, ant

    • Thanks Antoinette! And what a blessing it is to hear that the Word of God is getting ‘spread around.’ I am utterly blessed by that. 🙂 And its sooo good to hear from you too! It’s been way to long since we have taken a trip down to Surprise to see everyone, so we’ll have to do that sometime soon.
      Unfortunantly, as for printing it, I do not think there is any other way to print it, unless you cut and past it to a word document. That might be the best way. 🙂
      And thanks for the ‘typo’ correction. LOL. I have been known to do that from time to time. I’ll check my last document for any mistakes, sometimes the computer doesn’t catch them all.
      As for the “Reality of Christ” logo, that is unforutnantly the way the blog works, it wont show me as the author every time, just as the author of the blog. Otherwise it would be on the posts.
      And that Conference sounds like soo much fun!! I’d love to go! But unfortunantly our sons homestudy is that Friday, so I can’t make it. They are usually scheduled a year in advance. But I’ll have to write down the one for this next year. As I LOVE to attend those!!
      As for Patty, I have touched base with her. I’m so excited she is up here. Buts its been a while and I need to touch base with her again. I just love them so!!

  3. Pingback: It Is Stupid to Hate Correction: a reblog of sorts | Home's Cool!·

  4. haha i love this post. speaks volumes to me. i think people should follow being corrected by those who lead by example. Confusion happens when we have leaders or people in positions of leadership that have a “Don’t do as I Do but do as I say” policy which means that some people have a license for bad behaviour while others are prohibited which is counterintuitive to establishing order out of the chaos in the first place. Correction steers us in the right path even when it’s blunt and painful to hear sometimes. Without it, the world would be left in chaos and out of order. In order create peace, peace requires correction to establish order out of the chaos and confusion which means people need to be guided by standards of behaviour. What standards should we follow??? Biblical standards starting with the 10 commandments as a template and Jesus Christ as our foundation.

    Sherline 😀

  5. all the time i used to read smaller articles or reviews that
    as well clear their motive, and that is also happening with this
    post which I am reading now.

  6. Hi there, You have done a great job. I will certainly digg it and personally suggest to my friends.
    I’m sure they will be benefited from this site.

Leave a Reply

