Peace…Its ours for the Taking!

“For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.” Jeremiah 29:11

I know at times things can seem as if everything is falling apart. That the world is closing in on you and there never seems to be an end to trials. But what I want you to know is that God does have plans for you, plans for good and not disaster, plans to give you a future and a hope, just like Jeremiah states.

God is a god of love and he desperately wants what’s best for his children. At times that may mean taking us through some of the toughest times in our lives but in the end, we are made stronger because of it. Not only that, but we never have to go it alone. God promises always to be at our side and we can take refuge in him.

“Taste and see that the LORD is good; blessed is the man who takes refuge in him.” Psalm 34:8

Wow! God tells us here that those who take refuge in him are blessed. Why? Simply because God knows that when we cast all our cares, our worries, and our anxieties on Him, we can then rest in his blessings of peace…that powerful, calming, peace which only God can give and he reserves it just for his servants. It’s yours for the taking!

Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:7

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.” John 14:27

Every day I am reminded that we live in a broken world, full of broken and hurting people. But the great news is it will not always be that way. One day our Lord and Savior will return and when he does, all those who believe in Him, will experience joy like none other.

“He will wipe every tear from their eyes, and there will be no more death or sorrow or crying or pain. All these things are gone forever.” Revelations 4:11

Thankfully we serve a God who knows all about our pain and sufferings. And who will one day take all of that away, upon his triumphant return.  Come Lord Jesus come!

Love you all!

25 responses to “Peace…Its ours for the Taking!

  1. I really enjoy your posts, they always come at the perfect time too. 🙂

    Sent from iPhone by Charish Hammond 🙂

    CharishHammondFitness.com

  2. Hi Elissa, very True as the Scripture you shared confirms, God does not plan for us to suffer or have heartache but He knows we will and He prepares for us for it and as we experience trials and temptations and put our Trust in Him we are strengthened in our Faith, all things work together for good. No this does not mean that we give thanks for those things that cause us pain and suffering but we do give thanks to God that we are not going through them alone and if it is persecution that we will also be rewarded.

    God has no pleasure in seeing us hurting the same as we don’t with those we Love, sadly lack of understanding of the old Hebrew Text and even the Greek has caused error even with some well known Theologians and God’s discipline and correction in our lives is not as many claim it is, we need God’s wisdom as Jesus leads us into all Truth and we remember He is the exact image meaning He has the same Spirit Nature that God The Father has because they are one with The Holy Spirit in The Trinity, meaning Godhead, They are Love and we are to aim to be perfected in God’s Love by putting our flesh to death by The Spirit.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

  3. The opening bible verse is a wonderful reminder of Our Lord’s undying love. The following words deeply touched me, personally, because I have needed to hear these things for a long time. Disaster seems to be everywhere, and sometimes its difficult to find “the light” – but I thank you for sharing this post. I know I wasn’t the only one needing this wisdom

  4. I wondered why you guys never post! I thought I was following you; so I went to your gravatar, clicked on your blog and it says, “Sign me up!” LOL! I am positive I signed up a long time ago! That’s weird. Anyway, apparently you guys do post all of the time… gee, I apologize! God bless you! I’m re-subscribing again!

  5. I loved this encouraging and beautiful post. Wow! The photograph of heaven was amazing. I wondered where you took such a beautiful sunset. I also loved the scriptures you chose. Blessings to you.
    Joy

Leave a Reply

