On the Edge of the Cliff

I wanted to share with you a story that my husband and I heard at a Pathways class a few years ago. The speaker that day was telling us of a vision that she had, a vision of the lost. In this vision she saw a large group of people huddled together making necklaces on the side of a cliff. Then scattered sporadically, about the edge of the cliff, were a few people spread out every 500 feet or so. All of a sudden thousands of people started running towards the edge of the cliff and the people who were spread out were trying to save all the people from falling off the cliff, but there were too many, and they couldn’t save them all. While this was happening, the group in the corner just sat happily making necklaces, even though people were falling off the edge of the cliff to their deaths.

Wow!! Sometimes we, like the group making necklaces, forget how important it is to step outside of the walls of our church and share the Gospel to those in need. Now don’t get me wrong, being a part of a church is a very good thing, but if we are not sharing the Gospel with the outside world, then what good are we doing? For that is what we were commissioned to do; to spread the message of our Savior Jesus Christ.

My friends, we should not be ashamed to talk about our Savior. For God is not ashamed of us. If we truly love him and are saved then how can we be ashamed to speak about Him? How can we keep silent to the masses when God has delivered us from such a gruesome wrath and given us eternal life? As children of God, indwelt by His Spirit, shouldn’t we be driven to proclaim His greatness? Why would we say to ourselves that we are too scared or afraid to tell others about Christ. It is a blessing from God Almighty and we should not with hold that from others. For if we truly love our friends, family members, co-workers, etc., then we would share the Gospel with them.

“For whoever is ashamed of Me and My words in this adulterous and sinful generation, of him the Son of Man also will be ashamed when He comes in the glory of His Father with the holy angels.” Mark 8:38

If you are ashamed of Christ, then He too will be ashamed when He comes in the glory of His Father. I for one, do not want Christ ashamed of me at his return. We need to be sharing Gods Word whether or not we afraid to, whether or not we offend people, whether or not we believe we are smart enough or strong enough for the task. You see, it doesn’t matter what we think or how we feel. What matters is what God has called us to do.

“Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you…” Matthew 28:20

We are not to hide our beliefs and keep them only for our Sunday services. We are to specifically set them on a lampstand, so that all may see the light of Christ in you…

“Now no one after lighting a lamp covers it over with a container, or puts it under a bed; but he puts it on a lampstand, so that those who come in may see the light.” Luke 8:16

Oh how guilty I am! I don’t know about you, but this seems to be one of the things many of us struggle with. Why is it, that this is so hard to conquer? What holds us back? Considering the day’s we are in shouldn’t this feed our desire to let others know about the Lord? If the harvest is truly plentiful, as the Scriptures say, shouldn’t we believe Him for that?

Today, lets break out of the box, stop making necklaces, stand on the edge of the cliff, and start saving people from falling over the edge. Bring them to the very one who saved your soul! Bring them to Jesus!

“When He saw the crowds, He had compassion on them, because they were harassed and helpless, like sheep without a shepherd. Then He said to his disciples, “The harvest is plentiful but the workers are few. Ask the Lord of the harvest, therefore, to send out workers into his harvest field.” Matthew 9:36-38

Love you all!

14 responses to “On the Edge of the Cliff

  1. I think it can be hard to do because other people have gone ahead and have done it in such a way as to push people away rather than talk about the good news. trying to reach people whose hearts have been broken by people who claim to love the Lord Jesus Christ but push the hell and damnation part instead of the grace part of it all. Those people who have felt condemned first don’t seem to want to have anything to do with Christianity and trying to reach those people can be difficult. It takes a certain humility and gentleness to spread the message of God’s love and forgiveness and especially to deliver the message in a truthful yet individual ways because people are broken in different ways. It takes God to make us wise as to how to handle those situations and to be open to when people are ready to receive the message. I believe God calls people to him, we have to be aware of those people and go in and give them the news they hunger for. John 6:44 No one can come to me unless the Father who sent me draws him. we have to have the discernment to know when someone is being drawn and is doubtful. That being said, when you are madly in love with Jesus Christ, His name seems to drop off your lips no matter who is around. That’s what happens to me. I try to give the people who need it the most, the message of love and forgiveness that comes through Jesus Christ. I have many hurting people put in my path often. I always have. I didn’t know how to deal with that before I was a Christian. I loved them and fed them and housed them but didn’t share God’s word with them because at that time, I didn’t know it ( despite being a minister’s daughter). Now, it’s different. It almost always involved teens or early twenties who come my way, broken and they are the most opposed to hearing anything about God or Jesus. My own children are the biggest followers of the new age movement and I am going through an awful time dealing with how brainwashed they are. I find that talking to strangers is almost easier than talking to my own children right now and that breaks my heart because although I believe in grace and forgiveness, I also believe in hell. Hence my fear. yet perfect love casts out all fear. I’m trying to have faith in God that my children will recognize truth and turn to Jesus instead of their new age gurus. My kids are 21 and 22. Any prayers you could offer would be appreciated.

    • Oh I’m so sorry to here about your children. I will say a prayer for them. And keep praying you just never know. It took my mother 26 years before she came to know the Lord, so I have faith. 🙂 And thank you for your sweet responce. As there are so many ways people can come to the knowledge of our Lord so you just never know how your going to reach them. Love being one of the biggest ways. Thanks my friend!

  2. Row Boat Vision

    In this vision I saw a very stormy sea, at night,with no moon nor stars, and in the sea, there were people drowning. Also in the sea, were many rowboats with a captain in each and the captain, along with those in the boat were rescuing those who were in the sea. The boats would only hold so many and that is why many boats were needed. I saw that the boats all rowing to a light house. Also in the vision, I saw a very large ocean liner. It had a crew of thousands and it took every member of the crew to run the ship, no one could be spared to aid in the rescuing those who were drowning in the sea. Furthermore, the ocean liner was huge and very high so that it would be impossible for its crew to reach a hand into the water to rescue those who were drowning. As you might have guessed, the row boats are symbolic of home groups/simple churches. A rowboat can only hold so many before it begins to sink. The ocean liner is the mega church(machine) it has so much machinery needed to keep the vessel running that it can’t spare anybody. And when I saw the ocean liner steer toward somebody that was drowning in an effort to save them it ended up killing them. I believe that the Lord is returning the His church back to ts roots and to the simplicity of the gospel message from which it was birthed, I believe that the,”machinery” is being dismantled and the complexity of the machinery is giving way to the simplicity that is the Gospel pattern for church.

  3. The need to always be sure we are ministering to those who need us cannot be overemphasized. How easy it is to get caught up in “doing things” while ignoring what the Lord is actually calling us to do…. love one another and in doing so take the gospel to the lost around us. Lord bless you.

Leave a Reply

