The Spiritual Disease of Apathetic Christianity

apathyIn our culture today there are medical diagnoses’  for everything. From depression, to stress, to allergies, to sleep problems, and more. There are lists upon lists of medical diseases and almost every America has been labeled with some sort of diagnoses or another. Including myself. But one thing we tend to overlook as Christians are spiritual diseases.

Today, the church has welcomed many spiritual sicknesses into the body, but one that seems to have stricken harder than the others is apathy. In fact, apathetic Christianity is a real disease infecting the body of Christ.

So what is apathy? Well, the definition is simple. It is the mindset of, I don’t care! It is having a lack of concern for others, ministry, spiritual growth, or what God wants of us. In a nutshell, it’s impassiveness about God.

For the time is coming when people will not endure sound teaching, but having itching ears they will accumulate for themselves teachers to suit their own passions, and will turn away from listening to the truth and wander off into myths.” 2 Timothy 4:3-4

“So, because you are lukewarm, and neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of my mouth.” Revelation 3:16

Christians are becoming lukewarm, disinterested, and non-committal. I mean think about it, today there are many believers who do not participate in regular Bible studies or small groups. Fewer of us are serving and many of our talents go unused. Something is wrong with the church and it’s getting worse as each year passes.

The other day I was sitting and worshiping the Lord with a group of believers. I had my eyes closed and was meditating on the words of Jesus as I sang. All of a sudden the Lord brought to my mind a concert. The people were shouting, raising their hands, getting excited about the person singing and were joyfully excited about the concert itself. Then my mind seemed to wander to a football game. The people were yelling and engaged with what was going on. They were memorized and watched in utter anticipation at the next move of the ball players. Then I opened my eyes and glanced around the room at the worshipers of Jesus. No one had their hands raised, no one was excited, people were fidgeting and talking over the music; mouths were singing but not with utter joy and anticipation as seen at the ball game. Rather it was superficial and done merely out of obligation. There was a lack of real worship coming from the believers and little reverence was being shown. My heart broke! How can we cheer for football games and get excited at Christian concerts, yet our own worship for the Creator of the universe is lacking? I don’t understand. I couldn’t help buy cry and ask God for his forgiveness. Then it hit me, we have the disease of apathy. It has hit our worship, it has hit our homes, it has invaded our relationship with Christ. We simply don’t care anymore. I’ve heard pastor after pastor talk about apathy from the pulpits, yet no change comes from the body. We don’t vote because we say, ‘ah our vote doesn’t count anyhow.’ We don’t worship reverently because we say, ‘ah He loves us anyhow.’ We don’t tell people about Christ because we say, ‘ah the Holy Spirit will tell Him.’ And the list goes on and on and on. My friends God says in his word not to be apathetic…

“Do not be slothful in zeal, be fervent in spirit, serve the Lord.” Romans 12:11

“Wake up, and strengthen what remains and is about to die, for I have not found your works complete in the sight of my God.” Revelation 3:2

This unseen, yet rampant disease is crippling us and it is a heinous sin in the sight of the Lord. Apathy causes us no fruit and brings no glory to God. Now is the time to wake up from our apathetic state. For God says more about these last days than any another other time in history, including the time Jesus came to the earth. These last days are not going to be a walk in the park; they are going to be times of trial like none other before!

As a church, let’s be cured of apathy by reading the word, spending time with Him, praying, being reverent, and getting right with God. For now is the time!

“Watch therefore, and pray always that you may be counted worthyto escape all these things that will come to pass, and to stand before the Son of Man.” Luke 21:36

Love you all!

59 responses to “The Spiritual Disease of Apathetic Christianity

  1. Reblogged this on Life of a Minister Mom and commented:
    An important read from Reality of Christ. Have you become apathetic in your walk with Christ? Stay on fire for the Lord!!
    “Do not be slothful in zeal, be fervent in spirit, serve the Lord.”
    Romans 12:11

  2. How do you suggest we start addressing apathy in a church? Don’t you think the responsibility lies with the pastors and teachers? What could they be doing or not doing that contributes to the spiritual condition of the members?

    • I believe the responsibility lies with the person, however, I do believe pastors and teachers should preach on it, for sure! The problem is not them preaching on it, the problem is we are so apathetic as a culture that when it is preached on, we know it applies to us, but we just don’t care, nor do we care to do anything about it. We have heard it over and over again, and our ears have become immune. The hard part is making a bunch of people care about things they truly don’t think they need to care about. But the answer is really quite simple, and it is this: Most of God’s people have made a decision for Jesus, but few have made a commitment to Him. The two should automatically go hand in hand. If people truly made a decision for Jesus then they would be about His work. Sadly, there are many lukewarm ‘Christians’ in the church who ride the fence and justify their lukewarmness by saying that they are ‘saved forever because they believe in God. End of story, no more required.’ And they truly believe it because they are fed a one sided message.
      My advice is to preach truth even when it hurts, pray always, encourage others to be active for Christ and give them opportunities to do so. For example break out of the box and do things that are not normally done on a Sunday, stop service one day and pray as a congregation or during a bible study go out and witness (all of us are called to do so), this encouraging activeness and teaches them how to be active. Don’t allow satan to stop people out of fear of embarrassment. None of the disciples were embarrassed about following Jesus and neither should we. Finally, be aware of the spiritual battle that’s raging today. Hopefully that answers your question without going overboard. LOL! Thank you so much for asking, I really enjoyed answering them.
      And here is a link to a good website I found on the topic too…. http://www.biblecenter.com/sermons/confrontingcasualchristianity.htm

      • Thank you for taking the time for your comments. I do agree with everything you’ve said. It is really hard to work with people who are complacent, don’t have prayer needs so you can pray together with them, or those who have no interest in Bible study. In our situation and others, too, the whole counsel of God is not being preached. That in itself creates a problem with people who may come and go, looking for ‘something more’, or looking for real Christian fellowship which exudes warmth and joy, mostly the love and acceptance which some of these cold and dying churches offer little of to newcomers. I’ll check out that website. Thanks again.
        ~Liz

  3. Amazing post…I see this incidious disease too in my corner of the world. Your post encourages believers to rise up and get out of the mentality of sitting in church, soaking in the word, then not doing anything else…..so we sour. Great post!

  4. I wonder if Christians have gotten into the habit of passively worshipping in the pews instead of actively living life as disciples of Jesus Christ. Disciple-making doesn’t happen from a pulpit or a stage; it happens in relationship. I once read an excellent quote (and I don’t remember who said it) something to the effect of, “We must start making disciples instead of inspiration junkies.” A Christian who has had not real encounter with God throughout his or her week will have little to celebrate in worship. Thanks for a thought provoking post, Judy

  5. Your message is sadly true. The darkness of this perishing world has caused many to take their eyes from the prize of Christ Jesus! The goal of the enemy is to keep believers ineffective for the Kingdom! We need to remember the reason why we are here and that is for the glory of God and to reach the lost for his kingdom. Christ is coming back very soon. I pray that we all stay in the race and not grow weary!

  6. Yes, it is a sickness within the Church…as I read your post, and then the comments that followed, I know in my own life that the remedy is in each of our hearts. As I draw near to God, I hear His ideas, His will, His desires for my life. As I am closer to Him through the Bible and prayer and personal worship, I begin to see the world around me through His eyes. He transforms me and I seek to serve, rather than be served. I seek to love, rather than to be loved. If each believer, and I must see my own weaknesses and laziness for what they are, would seek God earnestly on a daily basis…I think the results would be remarkable! We would encourage each other, meet with one another, acknowledge the grave spiritual battle going on! Who seeks a remedy who does not recognize the sickness? I am glad I read your post tonight…it is encouraging me to seek God more not only on my own but with others. Press on!

  7. Amen! Great post! And unfortunately, very true. Let us join together in prayer for a country wide revival and invigorating longing for Jesus Christ!
    God Bless You!

  8. I was just thinking that I am not a very demonstrative person. I don’t get excited at sports events and I don’t raise my hands or sing aloud at concerts. I cry in secret at sappy movies or in moving real life scenes. God loves a joyful noise, but I think my joyful noise is best kept in the car with the radio too loud so no one hears my voice much less me. LOL. Great post though. It is difficult nowadays to find people to commit to their church. I wonder if our church hopping, non-committal mentality has anything to do with the breakdown of the family?

  9. The reality of this post signifies that indeed, Jesus Christ is coming soon, which every believer ought to pray, work, give and believe for what pleases God. Together let’s strive for God’s glory! 😉 Press on Elissa!♡

  10. The Stronghold of complacenccy

    Here is something that the Lord showed me that is a
    stronghold that needs to be brought down. This stronghold is
    complacency. It has been over 2 generations since the Azuza street
    revival took place that touched not only the United States, but the
    whole world. Since that time the world has crept into the church and
    revival has become just a nice thought instead of something to pursue
    God for with all our hearts, mind soul and strength. There needs to be
    a hunger for a move of God. It needs to consume us every waking
    moment.

    In the Book of Zephaniah, the Lord speaks to this attitude:

    Zep 1:12 And it shall come to pass at that time that I will search
    Jerusalem with lamps( Pro 20:27 The spirit of man [that factor in
    human personality which proceeds immediately from God] is the lamp of
    the Lord, searching all his innermost parts.and punish the men who are
    settled in complacency. Who say in their heart, the Lord will not do
    good nor will he do evil. (New King James Version)

    This attitude goes against the very nature of God for God is not
    uncaring and is not uninvolved in the affairs of men.

    I believe that this scripture in Zephaniah finds its counterpart in
    Revelation:

    Rev 3:14 And to the angel (messenger) of the assembly (church) in
    Laodicea write: These are the words of the Amen, the trusty and
    faithful and true Witness, the Origin and Beginning and Author of
    God’s creation: [Isa. 55:4; Prov. 8:22.]

    Rev 3:15 I know your [record of] works and what you are doing; you
    are neither cold nor hot. Would that you were cold or hot!

    Rev 3:16 So, because you are lukewarm and neither cold nor hot, I
    will spew you out of My mouth!

    Rev 3:17 For you say, I am rich; I have prospered and grown wealthy,
    and I am in need of nothing; and you do not realize and understand
    that you are wretched, pitiable, poor, blind, and naked. [Hos. 12:8.]

    Rev 3:18 Therefore I counsel you to purchase from Me gold refined and
    tested by fire, that you may be [truly] wealthy, and white clothes to
    clothe you and to keep the shame of your nudity from being seen, and
    salve to put on your eyes, that you may see.

    Rev 3:19 Those whom I [dearly and tenderly] love, I tell their faults
    and convict and convince and reprove and chasten [I discipline and
    instruct them]. So be enthusiastic and in earnest and burning with
    zeal and repent [changing your mind and attitude]. [Prov. 3:12.]

    This is a stronghold that needs to be brought down in prayer.

    2Co 10:4
    For the weapons of our warfare are not fleshly, but mighty through God
    to the pulling down of strongholds,
    2Co 10:5 pulling down imaginations and every high thing that exalts
    itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every
    thought into the obedience of Christ;

  11. A Dream About An Earthquake in Tucson, Arizona

    I had a dream early the morning of March 1, 2012 about Tucson having an earthquake. The dream was real enough that I wanted to and intend to purchase earthquake insurance for my house. I personally believe that the dream is indicating both a spiritual and physical event about to hit Tucson. What comes to mind as I write this is the vision from Ezekiel 37 regarding the valley of dry bones. “So I prophesied as I was commanded. And as I prophesied, there was a noise. And behold, a shaking! And the bones came near, a bone to its bone”.
    (Eze 37:7 MKJV) Some of these bones are buried and we walk over them not knowing that they even exist. So an earthquake would definitely reveal that which was hidden from view, at least that is what I am thinking.

    The Hebrew word used for shaking here is, ra‛ash, and following is the definition of the word:

    A masculine noun referring to an earthquake, a shaking, a rumbling, a commotion. It indicates a quaking of the surface of the earth (1Ki_19:11-12); the quivering and shaking of a warhorse as it engages a battle (Job_39:24); or the brandishing, shaking of a javelin (Job_41:29 [21]). It refers to the roar and commotion, the clatter of a battle itself (Isa_9:5 [4]); or the preparations for war (Jer_10:22). It depicts the noise of a rolling chariot wheel, hastening into battle (Nah_3:2). It is used of the sounds made by the Lord’s chariot appearance and movement (Eze_3:12). It stands for an earthquake itself, a great shaking, trembling (Amo_1:1; Zec_14:5).

    When I spoke to my former Pastor regarding the dream he said the following, ” it’s very similar to a prophecy that several shared with me 4 years ago in Tucson. The urgency seemed to be centered around the airbase at that time. For whatever reason. I pray it’s a spiritual awakening, but the concern has been there about disaster”.

    The Lord gave me a word the following day about the dream of the Earthquake I had which was, ” the dead in Christ will rise first”. I have been seeing in visions of tombs opening up. What I feel the Spirit saying is that the, “dead” here have to do with His church. The earthquake will wake the church here in Tucson. In addition, the , “dead”, are spoken of in Ephesians and says the following, “But all things become visible when they are exposed by the light, for everything that becomes visible is light. For this reason it says, “Awake, sleeper, And arise from the dead, And Christ will shine on you.” The word, “sleeper”, here comes from the Greek word,”καθεύδω katheúdō which means to be spiritually asleep, i.e., secure and unconcerned in sin, or indolent and careless in the performance of duty. The word, “dead”, comes from the Greek word, “νεκρός nekros”, which metaphorically means, spiritually dead, destitute of a life that recognizes and is devoted to God because its given up to trespasses and sins; inactive as respects doing right; destitute of force or power, inactive, inoperative.
    (Eph 5:13-14 NASB)

    A Vision of the church being separated from its Foundation

    The Lord showed me a vision and in the vision I saw a huge church. In the aftermath of the, “earthquake dream”,
    which I had shared, the church building itself had been separated from its foundation so that the foundation on which it was built was exposed for all to see. The church building was beside the foundation and was no longer hiding the foundation upon which it had been built.

    Keep your eyes on Tucson.

  12. Amen! A powerful message indeed and words which must be spoken so all Christians can change their before it’s too late…Thank you for sharing your ministry and many, many blessings to you…Robin

  13. Pingback: The Spiritual Disease of Apathy | wayneaugden·

  14. A timely post in a world that needs to feel, care and be healed.
    Apathy can be seen everywhere. A silent epidemic that sadly inflicts our society. Just last December when devastation and terror hits many parts of the world and even locally with the Sandy hook massacre, I am really saddened and alarmed when I talk to other people about it and their response is either, “Oh, it’s too depressing so I don’t watch or read them ,” or “Oh, really? I didn’t know,” then drops the subject of conversation. Whereas others can’t even hold their tears as they begin talking about it. I look around me and a lot are so engrossed with their own lavish, close world around malls and other shopping areas like there is no problem in the world. Some would rather entertainment themselves or text with their cellphones than converse with the next person they sit with. Sad? Very! Great post my friend. My wish? May people care more for 2013.
    Thanks to Patricia, I found your blog and this post.

  15. Joyce Meyers gave a sermon in which the content was very similar to this. As our culture and our world become more superficial and corrupt, we need to consciously and vigorously cleave to the Christian path. I don’t think that we can hear this message too many times. Thanks for putting it out there again! Vivian

  16. Pingback: Our Declaration of Independence… Prayerlessness « realityofchrist·

  17. This is so well articulated… This apathy has ‘infected’ the churches in my country (Australia) too. It’s certainly not of Him. Thanks for the battle cry to step out of the spiritual sleepiness we’ve found ourselves in.

  18. It is always refreshing to find people who can encourage the body of Christ during these difficult days of apathy. I worry about those who aren’t concerned, for whatever reason, about apathy. Because either they understand the apathy and just don’t care, or are not aware of the apathy, which means they have bought into sub-par living and it seems normal to them. I Recently read Craig Groeshel’s book “Weird: Because Normal Isn’t Working.” It reminds me that I am not trying to be the “new normal,” which has fallen into deep complacency, but today’s “weird!” A passionate, not apathetic, follower of Jesus Christ!

  19. What a great post! So beautifully said. Apathy is a tremendous problem, and a contagious state of being. Unfortunately society is conditioning many Christians to be apathetic. We are in the midst of His Creation and can’t see a thing! Hearts and eyes are closing up to the Truth. Overcoming apathy is yet one more hurdle to jump for so many people.
    You have a wonderful blog, Keep up the amazing work.
    God bless.

Leave a Reply

