Our Declaration of Independence… Prayerlessness

Hand ofGod“Prayerlessness is our Declaration of Independence from God.” Chris Inman.

This was a quote from my pastor at a Bible study I recently attended. It kind of hit home…

A life that has little to no prayer, is a life that seeks independence from God. If your prayer life has been lacking lately, you can rest assured that instead of being brought closer to God; you are actually seeking independence from Him. It may not be something that you do on purpose, or something that you desire to do. Rather quite the contrary, usually it’s because we are pre-occupied with other things that we just don’t care or just don’t have the time to pray. Which brings us back to the ‘apathetic Christianity,’ that we discussed last week. For prayerlessness is carelessness.

As Christians we can’t say that we love God and then not seek him in prayer. For prayer is an essential part of being a believer. And if your prayer life is little to none, or done only at meals and before bedtime, then I have to ask you, do you really have a relationship with God? Or do you have more of a legalistic ritual of prayer going on?

“When you pray, you shall not be like the hypocrites. For they love to pray standing in the synagogues and on the corners of the streets, that they may be seen by men. Assuredly, I say to you, they have their reward.” Matthew 6:5

May I suggest to you, that a legalistic ritual of prayer is taking on the attitude of a Pharisee. Like those who prayed in the marketplace publicly for all to see, yet lacked a spiritual relationship with the Heavenly Father. They prayed legalistically in a ritual form, yet never got down at heart level and poured their souls out to the Lord. It was all about a ritual and little about a relationship. Which one is it that you have? A relationship or a ritual that leads to a declaration of independence from God?

My friends, the Lord wants to know what’s going on in your life. He wants to know your needs, your desires, your wants. He wants you to pray for others. He wants to hear you express your praises to Him, your thanks to Him, and your adoration for Him. He wants to know how your day went, he wants to hear you ask for forgiveness for your wrong doings, he wants to be your Father, your Friend, your King. Our prayer life should not only be about praying at certain times, although all of that is good, he wants more. He wants us to pray without ceasing….

“Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. Do not quench the Spirit.” 1 Thessalonians 5:16-19

Does that mean we have to pray 24/7? No, but it does mean that you can pray and have a conversation with God at all times. When you are alone, pray, when you are in a bind pray, when you are happy pray. Pray in all situations and under all circumstances. And don’t just ask him for your needs and wants, although he wants to know that too, but also give him thanks, express your love for him, and praise him.

Don’t be a ritualistic legalistic Pharisee and don’t let your prayer life lack to the point that you are teetering down the path of becoming independent from God. God wants a dependent relationship from us.

So this week let’s not seek a declaration of independence, rather let’s seek a declaration of dependence from our Heavenly Father! Allow Him to transform your life and open the doors of communication that have been long since been forgotten. For you will be amazed at how God responds.

Love you all!

G

25 responses to “Our Declaration of Independence… Prayerlessness

  1. Thanks for this post! While praying the other day (at my kitchen sink) I asked to remember to pray not only when I need, want something or out of frustration but out of thanks and gratefulness so my prayers don’t come from a hypocritical place even though He says, “Ask and ye shall receive”…

  2. This is what we need, personally, in families, in communities and around the world. What a great post!

  3. Good stuff Elissa. CCSurprise is really encouraging our Church to be a Church of prayer. We now have 1st Friday Prayer Day and all are encouraged to come by the church morning to evening to pray and praise the Lord. We also are putting out a sign for anyone driving by that wants prayer to stop in and someone will pray with them. I love it. I am starting a study on prayer this week with our Women’s Morning Study. It is so important. I like what St Sahm said. It is so important to spend time praising Him in prayer. I tend to pray for HELP! Ha Ha. Anyway thanks. Great post.

    • Thats awesome Ola!! And its exciting to here that CCS is putting up a sign to welcome in people for prayer! What a way to reach the community!

      In addition you have always been a great prayer warrior, I do believe you are gifted that way! Love you my friend.

  4. Amen to that my friend. We live in a world that easily distracts us from what is real and true. A world that gives us false happiness. I’m guilty of falling short in my faith for the past few years due to certain events in my life but I also remembered that during this most difficult times, God never gave up on me. That gives me hope that it’s never too late to pray and find my way. Thanks for this, “My friends, the Lord wants to know what’s going on in your life. He wants to know your needs, your desires, your wants. He wants you to pray for others. He wants to hear you express your praises to Him, your thanks to Him, and your adoration for Him. He wants to know how your day went, he wants to hear you ask for forgiveness for your wrong doings, he wants to be your Father, your Friend, your King. Our prayer life should not only be about praying at certain times, although all of that is good, he wants more. He wants us to pray without ceasing….” God bless you and your family.

  5. Thanks for the post my friend, it did hit home! I spend lots of time in my Bible but I don’t pray as much as I should I need to work on praying at all times. I like what you said about “Does that mean we have to pray 24/7? No, but it does mean that you can pray and have a conversation with God at all times. When you are alone, pray, when you are in a bind pray, when you are happy pray. Pray in all situations and under all circumstances.” Thanks again for the post and have a great week!
    James

  6. Absolutely beautiful post! What a blessing! Thank you for sharing your post and many, many blessings to you…Robin

  7. Ouch!
    Guilty as charged! Why is it that I know better, but for whatever reason I come up with, I do not do it as much as I should…..Please pray for me!
    Dear God please forgive me of my sins…

Leave a Reply

