Complacent Christianity

Thinking_of_Others“I feel my purpose in life is to help others,” replied the young massage therapist I encountered at a salon. She seemed sweet, happy, and content with where her life had taken her.

So I inquired, “What do you mean?”

“Well,” she continued, “I am an Indian healer and I feel as if it is my purpose to help those in need. If someone needs an extra plate of food, I bring it to them. If someone needs me to pray over them, I do that.  If someone needs a healing massage, I give them one.  My late grandmother was a healer and she has passed that gift onto me. So I set aside my life to help others. And am available at a moment’s notice.”

I have to admit I was a little taken back by her comment as I had yet to be approached by someone who believes that they are a real Indian healer. This was new ground for me. But she continued.

“I show love to everyone I meet and I believe that it is my duty to do good, and treat all people with love and respect. I refuse to get married so I can be of help to others. I have a heart to make people well. This is sometimes my downfall, but I know it is my purpose.”

It was at that point that I realized she meant every word she spoke. She seemed like a really good person but I couldn’t help but think, what a waste. Here she is doing all these good works, yet none of it will actually count for eternity since she’s not a believer in Jesus. I felt saddened at the thought. Then it hit me. How can this woman, a non-believer, be so content with helping people in need, yet there are thousands of Christians out there who barley lift a finger to help? Why is it that Christians complain when God calls them to action yet this woman, wasn’t complaining at all. What has happened to us Christians?

You see, we have become complacent at Christians. In other words, we have a sense of self satisfaction even when others around us suffer. If we have a roof over our heads, food in our mouths, clothes on our backs, and our necessities’ provided, then we don’t care about much more. We have gotten to the place where as long as our needs are met, nothing else matters. We put ourselves in first place and others get the back burner.

My friends, we have to break out of this mold! So many people around us, neighbors, homeless, poor, needy, orphans, widows, sick, the imprisoned, and more need our help! We have to stop tending only to ourselves and start tending to the needs of others. They need it! We as believers need to step up and fulfill the role God has given us.

Do not merely look out for your own personal interests, but also for the interests of others.” Philippians 2:4

You see what’s sad is, this woman, took it upon herself to help others because no other people would. In her eyes no religion mounted up to the call. So she formed her own religion. Imagine if Christians actually fulfilled the role we were supposed to. We would not only be reaching the hearts of those we helped but also the hearts of many on-lookers such as this woman. Who herself was lost in a state of confusion.

Today I want to call all Christians to action. Today is the day to get active for Christ. Not just in your church building, for the eyes of the believers. But outside your church building too, for the eyes of those who don’t yet believe.

One thing I want to leave you with is this. That many people who think they believe in God, much like this woman, will one day stand before Him and have a real late wake up call. For narrow is the path to God, but wide is the gate to destruction. Which path is it that you are on? For not all will be let into the kingdom of God. Check out this verse in closing….

“Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only the one who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. Many will say to me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name and in your name drive out demons and in your name perform many miracles?’ Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers!’ Matthew 7: 21-23

I want you to take note of something in the passage above. It says “many.” It doesn’t say a few, or some, it says many will think they are going to heaven only to find out they are not. So who will enter the kingdom of God? According to this verse, ‘those that DO the will of the Father.’ (And obviously in order to Do his will, you must have already believed and accepted Jesus as Savior). But the key word here is, DO! So my question is are you doing the will of the Father? Are you serving others in this lost world? Are you about His business or are you complacent and content with your own business. Be about Gods business in this world, reach the lost, serve others, and develop that relationship with your King.

Love you all!

44 responses to “Complacent Christianity

  1. That’s good! I don’t remember the exact quote, but in his book Mere Christianity, C.S Lewis wrote about people that were born kind and giving and people who are born into wealth etc. He concluded that we don’t get credit from God for being born with gifts other “normal people” aren’t born with – “To whom much is given, much will be required.” In the end it’s all about motives – you rightly concluded that SHE is a good person; knowingly or not she’s stealing God’s glory.
    “Let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven.” (Matthew 5:16)

  2. In the book of Revelation, when addressing the 7 churches, Jesus says, “I know your works”. He doesn’t say I know your good intentions.

    I had a vision in June of 2012 concerning complacency.

    When I awoke in the morning, the Lord was really laying it heavily upon my heart warnings about becoming complacent. I was so led to pray this morning and have been led to pray about having the Fire of the Lord consume me in these last days.

    With that said, the Lord showed me a vision this morning. In this vision I saw that I was surrounded by total darkness. It was so dark that you could not even see your hand in front of your face. In this vision, I was holding a single candle. With the light of this single candle I was able to see people who I would not have seen otherwise and they in turn were able to see me. Jesus said that we were to be the light of the world, a city set on a hill.

    Search lights are measured in candle power, I have seen some search lights as high as 125 million candle power. If I was able to see people and they me with the light of a single solitary candle, imagine what a body of believers could do if each of us came together with our candles.

    The Stronghold of complacenccy

    Here is something that the Lord showed me that is a
    stronghold that needs to be brought down. This stronghold is
    complacency. It has been over 2 generations since the Azuza street
    revival took place that touched not only the United States, but the
    whole world. Since that time the world has crept into the church and
    revival has become just a nice thought instead of something to pursue
    God for with all our hearts, mind soul and strength. There needs to be
    a hunger for a move of God. It needs to consume us every waking
    moment.

    In the Book of Zephaniah, the Lord speaks to this attitude:

    Zep 1:12 And it shall come to pass at that time that I will search
    Jerusalem with lamps( Pro 20:27 The spirit of man [that factor in
    human personality which proceeds immediately from God] is the lamp of
    the Lord, searching all his innermost parts.and punish the men who are
    settled in complacency. Who say in their heart, the Lord will not do
    good nor will he do evil. (New King James Version)

    This attitude goes against the very nature of God for God is not
    uncaring and is not uninvolved in the affairs of men.

    I believe that this scripture in Zephaniah finds its counterpart in
    Revelation:

    Rev 3:14 And to the angel (messenger) of the assembly (church) in
    Laodicea write: These are the words of the Amen, the trusty and
    faithful and true Witness, the Origin and Beginning and Author of
    God’s creation: [Isa. 55:4; Prov. 8:22.]

    Rev 3:15 I know your [record of] works and what you are doing; you
    are neither cold nor hot. Would that you were cold or hot!

    Rev 3:16 So, because you are lukewarm and neither cold nor hot, I
    will spew you out of My mouth!

    Something else that I have noticed that when Jesus says to those who say to Him Lord Lord in Matthew 7: 21-23, Depart from me. The Greek word for depart is “apochOreite” and is translated be ye spacing from me. What I see it meaning is, not so close, I do not know you. So those who do not do the will of Jesus will not be granted the privilege of being close to Him in eternity. What I take away from this is that to the degree that Jesus is Lord of your life in this life corresponds to the degree of closeness you will enjoy in eternity.

    In Matthew the word depart is used again and this time it is the Greek word, “poreuesthe” and it means , be ye going.

    “Then He will also say to those on His left, ‘Depart from Me, accursed ones, into the eternal fire which has been prepared for the devil and his angels;

    (Mat 25:41)

    Something for you to pray about. This is just something I had noticed when I was studying the passage in Matthew 7:21-23 . For example, in the book of Acts there is the story of the seven sons of Sceva.

    But also some of the Jewish exorcists, who went from place to place, attempted to name over those who had the evil spirits the name of the Lord Jesus, saying, “I adjure you by Jesus whom Paul preaches.” Seven sons of one Sceva, a Jewish chief priest, were doing this. And the evil spirit answered and said to them, “I recognize Jesus, and I know about Paul, but who are you?”
    (Act 19:13-15)

    From this passage of scripture I gather that there must be a relationship with Jesus in order for anyone to cast out a demon and I would think that the same would hold true for healing and prophesying. The question that will have to be answered when we face our Lord as believers is whether or not we did His will .

    Something to pray about and see what the Lord tells you.

    • We do desperately need another Azuza street revival!! And yes we are sadly the church of Laodicea. And I have to agree with you, we do need a relationship with him to do prophecy and heal. I think a relationship with the Lord is of utmost importance. Thanks for sharing that. 🙂

  3. Well said! Your piece, however, brings to mind a question. Are those that choose not to help really Christians? The question is posed because some find it convenient to say that they are Christians even while their lives are large show otherwise. Now, it is understood that salvation cannot be obtained by works but it is certain that the Christian life brings about good works.

    http://thechristianperspective.intuitwebsites.com/

    • To answer your question, “Are those that choose not to help really Christians?” I would have to say that God only truly knows the heart level of a person. But if they are not about Gods work, then I would have to say they have no fruit, and therefore, are not saved in the first place, like many believe. Sadly many are mislead into believing they are saved simply because they said a 1 minute prayer and call themselves ‘Christians’. This is just not the case. For if they meant that prayer then they would have ‘evidence’ to back that up. Meaning a fruitful life.

      Thanks for asking!! 🙂

  4. Pingback: “Complacent Christianity” by Reality of Christ « En el Jardín de los Elefantes·

  5. I hate to put it this way but many “Christians” I have meet are just that Taco Bell Sunday believers. Sin m-s church on sun feel better pats on back love love rinse and repeate. I think you are wise in your interpretation of the scriptures you have used and I wish more people of all faiths would act more like they truly believe god died for them. We are a very vanilla culture and find it far to easy to be “saved”
    Namaste
    Benjamin

  6. Very powerful message Elissa. We can’t afford to be complacent and uncaring. There will come a time were all our actions will be tested. My view is that when people see a Christian…they should be able to tell right away that you are because we are meant to be known by our love. Love isn’t just a word we say…it is something demonstrated. The power of a Christian lies in their actions not in their inaction. Faith without works is dead…and that is the complacency that you speak of. At the same time…for this woman…works without Faith is also dead. so we need to marry Our Faith in Christ with our works to truly be powerful Christians in the Lord.

    Awesome post.
    Sherline 😀

  7. A very difficult conversation to have these days, indeed. We have really managed to mess up the true definition of Christianity in recent generations. Somehow, we’ve equated “in Christ” with “American Dream.” I was recently challeneged to simply start reading the Acts, measuring my lifestyle and mindset by the early church’s. The bottom line is that the Bible knows nothing of a person truly being saved and not being changed. We’re commanded to “spend and be spent for the gospel.” We’re called to lay down our lives for one another. We’re called to be disciples and be continuously making disicples. To refuse to be actively engaged in everything our Lord commanded is an anomaly. We cannot reasonably claim to be saved and yet unsubmissive to His Lordship.

    The other side of the coin is understanding why we seek to abide in Him, to be vessels cracked and pouring forth His pleasant aroma. Those in the Sermon Mount text give their problem away quickly when in answer to Jesus’ words, “I don’t know you,” they immediately reply, “didn’t I…” We can just as easily be consumed with our own efforts, and gain a wrong sense security. The only right response to a Holy God’s inference as to why we should be allowed into His presence is of course, “We shouldn’t be allowed.” Broken and humbled, we are saved by His amazing grace. What causes us to become selfless vessels of mercy? Is it not because the old man has been put to death and the new creation in Christ desires nothing more than to be just like Jesus? Blessings friends!

  8. This is absolutely amazing! So so so true! I wish I could do more myself, but I’m doing all I know to do. In this day and time, it is so important to be firmly grounded in your faith, and not just a “Sunday Morning Church Goer”. Great post!

  9. Thank you for following my blog, and I so respect what you are doing with yours! By your dialogue you are encouraging and building others to greater levels of compassion and service.

    With respect and honor for your beliefs and your blog, I have a question (uh, I guess several questions!!). Could this woman be one of these: Romans 13-15 13 For it is not those who hear the law who are righteous in God’s sight, but it is those who obey the law who will be declared righteous. 14 (Indeed, when Gentiles, who do not have the law, do by nature things required by the law, they are a law for themselves, even though they do not have the law. 15 They show that the requirements of the law are written on their hearts, their consciences also bearing witness, and their thoughts sometimes accusing them and at other times even defending them.) Even knowing that it is faith in Christ’s work on the cross that saves, not the law, this verse must be there for a reason. Is it necessary to feel that a good-hearted sincere non-Christian MUST be STEALING glory from God (or from Christians), rather than, simply, doing good? And then, wouldn’t it be Christ’s job to judge her heart, as One who knows? Even if she didn’t say an official, church sanctioned, sinner’s prayer? And, is doing good for its own sake, actually A WASTE or FORMING HER OWN RELIGION? Perhaps her salvation will come later. And most certainly, those who she has helped will be blessed now, even if by reduction of stress or the kindness of human touch, which is fairly scarce in our culture. Is massage therapy healing, in the sense that Christ and the disciples healed? Does she claim that? What is the concern here? Is her kindness of the devil? Should she refrain from the healing effects of massage until a Christian is available? In all honesty, I just ended a devoted 15 year friendship with a devout Christian friend who professes to heal, whose advice and manner to me was so toxic that I thought of taking my own life. Would she be a better candidate for healing…or even massage? I am no longer a Christian, but I am still seeking HIM, IN SPITE of what I have been taught. I don’t want to pick this apart, but it hurts me to think one has to be a Christian to have permission to do good, or to have any good I (or other non-Christians) do judged to be stealing by those who are the anointed. OUCH!!!

    I blog about domestic violence by a Christian husband (not perfect, but forgiven? only God knows) and the church counsel and scripture that abused me again. I also blog about things that make it hard for a believer to keep faith in fellowship with those whose actions and opinions create negative views of Christ by ego or cultural habit, however well intended, from pulpit or congregation. And those that obscure Christ from unbelievers, substitute pointless agendas and controversies, and drive them away. I have occasional anger and frequent frustration about this, but also a deep desire to be non-judgmental and respectful. Because love and respect is right. And Christian, right?

    It is my respectful suggestion that the following things may do great good to Christians and others, without much expense or effort, in the name of Jesus: 1) Learn and teach from the pulpit and elsewhere WHAT abuse is, and that it has no place in a Christian marriage (specific behaviors, such as insults, belittling,sexual disrespect, criticism and mean jokes, controlling money, pushing, shoving, controlling with scripture, hitting, isolating, threatening, etc.), 2) substitute for one men’s and one women’s dinners or retreats a speaker on domestic violence, so that you can be educated and learn how to see and truly help those who are abused (huge percentage – even in the church), 3) study materials by teachers who will NEVER tell an abused woman to submit, or that divorce in the face of abuse is sin, etc., 4) establish good relationships between your church and local domestic violence facilities and resources, and 5) as Christians learn to be so dwelling IN Christ that you have nothing to prove, only good to give.

    Blessings!

    Diane

    • Hi Diane! I am so excited to follow your blog also! And thank you for stopping by mine. As I really enjoy reading you questions and responding. 🙂 You are sweet to ask. 🙂

      As for your first question, “Could the woman be the one found in Romans2:13-15?” My answer is this. In verse 13 it states that we can’t just hear the word of God, but we must also have actions to back that up. This is a true statement, as all of the Bible. Just because we ‘hear’ Gods word doesn’t mean we are saved. We must DO Gods word. This is clear. However, we must take the Bible as a whole and according to the rest of the Bible, you have to not only have actions but you also must believe in Jesus’ life, death, resurrection, and the Triune God (John 3:16-18). The woman that I spoke to believed in many gods, and didn’t believe Jesus was God or that he was the Only God. In other words just because she was a ‘good moral person’ doesn’t mean she would will make it into heaven.

      Now to get into the next part of that Scripture, vrs 14-15. Here it is simply saying that all of us have a conscience and thoughts. At birth God has implanted a moral compass in each of us, believers and non-believers alike. So this woman, as us all, has a ‘moral compass’ written on the very depth of her soul. As us all. This is why we have a desire to do good and get fulfillment from it.

      In response to your next set of questions “Is it necessary to feel that a good-hearted sincere non-Christian MUST be STEALING glory from God (or from Christians), rather than, simply, doing good? And then, wouldn’t it be Christ’s job to judge her heart, as One who knows? Even if she didn’t say an official, church sanctioned, sinner’s prayer? ”

      If truth be told we are all glory stealers to some effect. Sadly this is part of our sin nature that we all inherited. And yes it is Gods job to judge, and His job alone. I can only go by what the Bible says about people who are saved. Which it says that you must believe, have a relationship with Him and have fruit to back up that faith. It’s not about just saying a ‘sinners prayer.’ In fact there is nothing in the Bible that states that you have to say this prayer to be saved. That is just our way of making a public confession of our faith. And just because you say that prayer doesn’t make you saved. No. Its the sincerity of your heart. Did you mean it and does your life show it. If so how? You must have a relationship with him, do His will, and believe. There must be a transformation of your life showing fruit.

      Now is what she doing good? Oh Yes! Should she stop doing it. NO! For her moral compass drives her to do good. Now what I mean by ‘waste’ is that even though she does all these ‘good works’ does not mean she will get into heaven. And none of what she is doing will count for an eternal award, because she does not believe in Jesus. Many of the Pharisees and Sadducees in Scripture did good works, but that did not get them into heaven. This is Biblical also.

      Titus 3:5″ He saved us, not on the basis of deeds which we have done in righteousness, but according to His mercy, by the washing of regeneration and renewing by the Holy Spirit”

      Eph 2:8-10 “For by grace you have been saved through faith; and that not of yourselves, it is the gift of God; not as a result of works, that no one should boast.”

      Rom.3:28 “For we maintain that a man is justified by faith apart from works of the Law.”

      As for the next set of questions, ” Is massage therapy healing, in the sense that Christ and the disciples healed? Does she claim that? What is the concern here? Is her kindness of the devil? Should she refrain from the healing effects of massage until a Christian is available?”

      To that I would have to answer that no, her healing is not like the Christ’s healing, no one’s is. The disciples did no healing of their own, but only the healing God allowed through them. And her kindness is not of the devil, rather its part of her moral nature. Just because you are not saved doesn’t mean you are not a moral person. Christians and non-Christians alike can be ill moral at times and moral at times. This is a part of who we became when Adam and Eve sinned in the garden. We all have sin. And no she shouldn’t stop massage for a Christian. For Christians are no better than unbelievers. We are all sinners.

      As for your friend who claimed to heal people in Christ’s name, yet never actually healed you. Then I have to question her stance with the Lord. Just because someone says they are saved doesn’t mean they are. She probably was a ‘false convert’. Meaning someone who goes around saying there a believer, yet at heart level don’t believe him and whose lives do not show it. Sadly many people do this. And one sign of a false convert is when they say they can do things, such as your friend, yet it never happens.

      As for your ‘Christian’ abusive husband. I also question his true stance with the Lord. I don’t see how a someone can say they are a believer, yet walk in such sin daily. To me that is not a believer at all. That is someone who ‘hears’ the word, but does not ‘obey’ the Word (Rom. 2:13). His actions show otherwise. As Christians we are to practice righteousness, do we make mistakes, yes we are Not perfect, but we should strive to do better, not indulge in sin.

      Well I hope I answered some of your questions at least a little and I’m sorry I’ve written a book. But I want you to know, that you are loved, and I truly do love hearing from you. Unfortunately it seems you have run into alot of legalism in your time, which is not of God, and into alot of people who claim they are followers of Christ yet their actions don’t justify that claim. Please don’t let their false claims of what a Christian is spoil the truth of what it really means to follow Christ. There are so many delusions out there. Ask God to reveal truth. For He wants you back in his life. He wants you as his daughter. He has such love for you. And if you have any further questions on what it really means to follow Christ. Please don’t hesitate to ask. 🙂 Thank you again for your sharing the truth of your heart.

      Always,
      Elissa

  10. “So she formed her own religion.” A new perspective for me that you’ve provided in your passage. Well done. Oh by the way, did you have an opportunity to witness to her about Jesus and His salvation? Thank you for sharing.

  11. I truly feel that this is what is wrong with our country. 2 Chronicles 7:14
    “if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land.”

  12. Why should we be complacent??? If we know Christ, we’re bringing the God of the Universe along with us wherever we go!! Point everyone you meet to Christ!!

  13. Pingback: The Church God Spit Out of His Mouth | Lyn Leahz·

  14. Pingback: The Church God Spit Out of His Mouth | realityofchrist·

  15. Pingback: The Church God Spit Out of His Mouth « vineoflife.net·

  16. Pingback: The Church God Spit Out of His Mouth | Vine of Life News·

Leave a Reply

