Catering Churches – Fear of Offending

SHUUWhere are all the Christians? Are they still around? Do they have voices? Do they take action? Do they attempt to keep God a part of this world?

Why is it that liberal candidates win and churches are on rocketed decline? Why is it that abortion, drugs, promiscuity, and homosexuality have become the norm? Why aren’t the Churches standing against such things? Where are their actions? Where is their love? Why aren’t they teaching truth?

Sadly, the church today is no longer standing against wrong, or against injustice. Instead, they cater to people out of fear of possibly ‘offending someone’, because if they ‘offend’ someone, then…”they won’t go to church any longer, and if they don’t go to church any longer, then they won’t hear the Word of God, and if they don’t hear the Word of God, then they won’t be saved. So why ‘offend’ people, after all, it will turn people away from the Gospel.”

Well, I can see why they think that, but I can’t help but wonder if there’s a better way.

I want you to go with me for a moment. Jesus offended just about everyone he came into contact with, the disciples, the Pharisees, rich men, poor men, and people who gathered to hear him speak. Obviously he didn’t go around ‘offending’ people by criticizing them–this goes against the Bible itself; as we are not to be mean with our mouths and talk bad about others; nor, shout and scream at them. This is offending people in a negative way, via name calling, bulling, etc. Which Christians are not to do–However, He did offend people with the Truth of His Word. He didn’t hesitate teaching about heaven or hell. He didn’t mind hurting someones feelings by teaching them that He was the only way to God, not ‘one of many paths’. He didn’t care if people left when he taught that sin was wrong and not something to be flaunted, but rather repented of. He boldly preached against the filth of the world, and encouraged people to seek after righteous living. In fact, He usually started out with massive crowds of people that peeled off in layers because of the words He spoke.

Jesus wasn’t afraid to make people come face to face with the truth of His Word. He knew their hearts and got straight to the source. He didn’t peddle around like the church does today, in hopes of salvation. He told them like it was. He knew many of them weren’t ready, at least at that time, to receive His message. He knew they didn’t want anything to do with Him. Had Jesus not spoken truth out of fear of ‘offending someone’, then I’d image he would have ended up with thousands/millions of false converts and lukewarm Christians (which aren’t really true Christians, in my book), kind of like there are today? Makes you think?!

So what happens when the church caters to such people? Well, you end up with is a bunch of false converts, and you end up having a bunch of people ask the question, “Where are all the real Christians?” Why, because true Christians are bunched up with the false ones and its making us look bad. Mainly because water down messages are being taught out of fear of ‘offending someone.’ They are too worried about what people think, rather than preaching truth! And if that’s not enough for you. Think about this statement…

Why is it that we have more churches in this country than any in the world, yet our crime and immorality is on the rise? Because…

If I share that I am against abortion, people will think bad of me…. If I share that homosexuality is wrong, people will think I am judging them…… If I share that hell is real, they’ll disown me….If I share that God doesn’t like divorce, people will get hurt…. bottom  line….

Who cares what people think! I believe the highest opinion we can seek is Gods option!

Okay, so maybe you are one of those who is preaching truth and your complaint is that people aren’t listening. Well, that can be true, however it doesn’t matter if they are listening or not, we should be preaching the truth of the Gospel, no matter what.

The prophet Jeremiah went his whole life without converting a single soul, yet none of that stopped his preaching, and neither should it ours!

There is also a story of a man who tried to save the city of Sodom from destruction by warning the citizens. But the people ignored him. One day someone asked, “Why inconvenience everyone? You can’t change them.” “Maybe I can’t,” the man replied, “but I will still shout and scream to prevent them from changing me!”

If no one is listening, then preach anyway to prevent them from changing you! After all, we Christians should be a force to be reckoned with, not a force reckoning with. Lets stop our catering!

Love you all!

(Also blogged on www.vineoflife.net)

35 responses to “Catering Churches – Fear of Offending

  1. This is what you get when you have a seeker sensitive church. What’s sad is I saw a vision yesterday along the lines of your post where Jesus was telling certain people that they couldn’t enter heaven. The people had shocked looks on their faces and we’re telling Jesus, “but I prayed the sinner’s prayer”. What is sad is the sinner’s prayer is more of a magic incantation these days than it is a change of heart and lifestyle.

  2. Reblogged this on freedomsbrushfire and commented:
    ABSOLUTELY. If you remove or neglect to speak and believe the whole Truth, than you deny it.

    You see the symptoms of this everywhere. A compromise between the church and the world will destroy the church as good cannot coexist with evil. Abortion, divorce, the blurring of gender roles, homosexual relations, and other sin will not just creep in the door of the church, but spread as a cancer within once the church compromises it’s foundation on the whole, complete Word of God.

    It is your job to police your own church. You must be able to root out the false truths that weasel their way in. You must know your faith. You must know the Truth, because the false teachers do not show up as insidious or nefarious evil men and women, but rather cloak themselves in self-righteousness, misunderstandings themselves, or in the language of the mainstream world.

    When Christ called us to be “salt” and “light” in the world, imagine the metaphor that was being made. Salt and light are purifying agents – they are naturally antibacterial. The sin of the world is the infection.

  3. Well written and dead on. Once the church compromises on the Truth, which we must accept as whole, complete, and perfect if we are to lay claim on true faith, then the church ceases to be set apart. You see this in the world in various ways – acceptance of gay marriage, premarital cohabitation or sex, divorce, adultery, women preaching or teaching men, or tolerance of anything considered to be fads or “mainstream.”

    Great post, I had to reblog and encourage you to take a look at many of the pieces I’ve written on this and other related subjects as I imagine you’ll agree.

  4. Wow Elissa I feel like giving you a hug, such a powerful message of Truth and although some will find it hard to believe, of Love too. It is not Love to watch someone head for a cliff and their doom and not warn them, will it make a difference, not if they won’t listen, if their hearts are too hard, we are all responsible for keeping the Church pure, starting with ourselves.

    What some don’t also realise today is by their actions of looking the other way instead of rebuking, not correcting error and not warning those who continue to sin or preaching a feel good message, that it is ok to disobey God He will forgive you, He wants you to be Happy Clappy, they are not being loyal to Him. If someone I Love is being hurt I stand up for them and believe me God is hurting today as He was in the time of Noah to see His children ignoring His guidelines because He knows they will reap what they sow and it is not His will anyone perishes, meaning be eternally separated from Him.

    Jesus stood up for His Father, He got the whip out and I’m sure He didn’t whisper when He called them a brood of vipers but He also said ……

    Luke 13:34-35 O Jerusalem, Jerusalem, which killest the prophets, and stonest them that are sent unto thee; how often would I have gathered thy children together, as a hen doth gather her brood under her wings, and ye would not!

    Jesus Loved enough to rebuke but He tells us we will be hated, ignored, and killed as He was. When I first started to go to Church I asked someone their star sign, they Lovingly rebuked me, I got mad but later I thanked them, the seed they planted bore good fruit, I later rejected the Occult knowing it was not of God. I feel into deep sin from an addiction in my flesh that had me in bondage even before I believed there was a God and went to Church and not knowing we need to put the flesh to death and how to do so, it took hold of me again, two Christian friends rebuked me and you can be sure they were then not on my list of most favourites but later after Jesus rescued me from my addiction, I thanked them with heart felt gratefulness for Loving me enough to risk our friendship. This was the same when a man rebuked me for telling rude jokes, at the time I thought they were funny, after all people laughed even in the Church. If we agree with evil or ignor it and take it lightly, we will eventually do it.

    Colossians 1:27-29 To whom God would make known what is the riches of the glory of this mystery among the Gentiles; which is Christ in you, the hope of glory: Whom we preach, warning every man and teaching every man in all wisdom; that we may present every man perfect in Christ Jesus: Whereunto I also labour, striving according to His working, which worketh in me mightily.

    Ezekiel 33 :8 – 9 When I say unto the wicked, O wicked man, thou shalt surely die; if thou dost not speak to warn the wicked from his way, that wicked man shall die in his iniquity; but his blood will I require at thine hand, Nevertheless, if thou warn the wicked of his way to turn from it; if he do not turn from his way, he shall die in his iniquity; but thou hast delivered thy soul.

    Thank you dear Ellisa, God bless you for your Faithfulness (((Hug)))

    Christian Love from us both – Anne

    • I absolutely LOVE your insights on this!! And what a neat testimony with your friends and their rebuke. It takes a good friend to do such a thing. God bless you my sister!!

  5. Being disagreeable and mean is different from firmly and kindly standing for the truth. Many churches believe that if they stand for the truth they are automatically disagreeable and mean. On the contrary, it is just as you said our Lord stood perfectly for truth, offended some through no fault of His own and set the example for us to follow. They key is to kindly and with love stand firmly for what we know is truth. Both compromise and an unloving, mean, fault-finding, overly critical attitude have no part in the Lord’s churches.

    Great posting! So much truth.

  6. Reblogged this on Freedomborn … Set Free Eternally and commented:
    We commend you Elissa for your stand against evil and join you in Unity with our Lord, I will also share soon the dangers of wrong Teaching and rejecting God’s guidelines by my own life experience, yes we are saved by Grace and we will show we are, so we forget the past, today is a new day, if we have come to heart repentance and have been Born again of God’s seed we will walk as Jesus walked………

    Bless you Elissa – Christian Love from both of us – Anne

    • Bless you also!! And I can’t wait to read your post on the dangers of wrong teaching and your life experience in that!! Let me know when it comes, just in case I miss it. 🙂

  7. A sad reality, but an important point for you to share! The Word is the Word is the Word, and instead of being offended by it, get in line with it!! Believers, take a stand and operate in the boldness we have through our Lord and Savior!!

  8. Excellent!!!
    It describes exactly how I’ve been feeling lately. From my own experience it seems to be getting increasingly more difficult to share the Gospel with others not that I don’t do my best anyway. I’ve also noticed how much paganism has worked its way into what is commonly referred to as Christianity.
    More and more the church appears to be leaving her first love.
    On the upside, current events do have me examining myself more closely too….which is a good thing.

  9. Pingback: You Are Appreciated…Blog Awards!! | Life of a Minister Mom·

  10. Powerful! I love that you don’t hold back. BOLDNESS. Awesome.

    Sent from my iPad

  11. Thank you RealityinChrist for articulating how easy it is for liberal teaching to get a foothold or postmodernist extreams when it’s feel good too, as it is then accepted as the Truth and continues over many years, even centuries even though it is not confirmed in Scripture. Its articles like yours that encourage us to be uncompromising and fearless in promoting the simplicity and truth, of a gospel that teaches to love and revere and obey as we follow the Lord Jesus Christ as the only way to the Father.

    Blessings
    Ron

  12. This is something that scares me, churches that water down truth to not offend. I am not saying that God has called us to offend people, but the truth, REAL truth is often times offensive, but always necessary.

  13. Pingback: The Art of Offending Jesus | Broken Believers ♥·

Leave a Reply

